Help! How do I get started?

planespottersam

Hello!

I am brand new to this entire world of model collecting, and I've been reading material and watching videos on what I should do to get started... but I thought maybe I'd hop on a forum and ask around, too! One can never have too much information! The first model I got was Amelia Earhart's Lockheed Vega 5B from Smithsonian... now I'm hooked and I want more.

You should give me a follow and shoot me a message! Let's be friends! Any advice is accepted!

Thanks!
Sam

Hi Sam, welcome to the world of model collecting!

There's loads of different options to choose from, but mostly it will depend on your main collecting interest, budget and available space. Are you interested in military, commercial or GA aircraft, modern or classic aircraft, which geographical regions interest you the most, etc, etc.

There are multiple prominent scales nowadays, and which one you choose will likely be affected by the answers to the above questions. For civilian aircraft, 1/200, 1/400 and 1/500 are the major scales, from largest to smallest (and most expensive to least) respectively. For military and GA aircraft, there are some larger types in the aforementioned scales, however, the majority is in 1/72 and 1/48 scale.

Have a look around on the forum, there's loads of useful stuff here. If you have any specific questions just ask, we would be happy to answer. (I'd love to see a pic of the Vega 5B too, it's such an iconic aircraft! 😉)

Hello!

I am brand new to this entire world of model collecting, and I've been reading material and watching videos on what I should do to get started... but I thought maybe I'd hop on a forum and ask around, too! One can never have too much information! The first model I got was Amelia Earhart's Lockheed Vega 5B from Smithsonian... now I'm hooked and I want more.

You should give me a follow and shoot me a message! Let's be friends! Any advice is accepted!

Thanks!
Sam